Vales // Clarity (Tangled Talk)

Words cannot express how pleased I am that Veils exist. Before this release I had not heard of them at all but now that Clarity has brought the band to my attention my life has got that little touch better. Hailing I think from Cornwell and delivering 5 tracks of emotional screamo hardcore (fuck that sounds horrible) this quartet tore me a new one as soon as I heard them. It started with a random bandcamp play that led to me pre ordering the vinyl. I then found out they were touring with The Long Haul and bought that fucker too, simply because they are on the same label and sharing the same stages, such was the pull from this one track on bandcamp. The track in question is called Caves (anxiety) and it’s breath taking. A few moments later in my inbox the digital downloads appeared (other labels take note) and that is what I am basing this review from. The following 24 hours was stuffed full of this record. I must admit that I am somewhat obsessed.

Each track has a theme in brackets after the title. My current favourite being Stallions (Adrenaline), it pulls you along through the song by the scruff of your neck screaming “listen to me you fucker, I need to be heard.” The record has the same feel as the recent Touché Amore album. Which is a great record, it’s just I think this is better. The production is crisp and raw at the same time. The chaotic parts toward the end of Surrender (Clarity) simply need to be heard through a cranked up sound system. It is the aural equivalent of the Earth imploding. It’s damn near perfect. Thank fuck for Veils and Tangled Talk. It goes without saying I guess but I can’t recommend this release enough.

And as an aside this record has been released by Tangled Talk who along with Holy Roar, Big Scary Monsters and Blood and Biscuits have formed a sort of uber label called Pink Mist. The Holy Roar label gets a lot of stick and criticism over the internet due to the fact that a, they release bands that people don’t always like and b, they employ indie record label tactics like they have sent out promo cdr’s, press releases that big up their bands and have pre-orders and either have vinyl and T-shirt combined deals or exclusive limited run t-shirts and you know what, just about anything that fans of the bands they release might actually love. Some of these tactics are infact heaven forbid, employed by majors as well.

Well you know what, if the reason for disliking the label is that you dislike the bands on it then fine. Any labels in the Pink Mist group wouldn’t put out anything they didn’t like themselves and personal taste is just that, personal taste. But if the reason you think they suck is because a message board says the label is run like a major would be then just fuck off and step down of that DIY high horse for a moment and just accept that not all people see things EXACTLY like you do.  If any tactics these labels use mean that they can release more records in the future without going bust then not only am I for it but I am damn proud to have these records as part of my collection.

One thought on “Vales // Clarity (Tangled Talk)”

Leave a comment